Hardy disk spacers - how important?

Restoration forum Bmwbike.com
Allan Atherton

Hardy disk spacers - how important?

Post by Allan Atherton »

My R27 was reassembled without the rubber spacers 26 11 3 038 184 on each side of the Hardy disk in the drive coupling. There are a total of four spacers.

My restorer says these spacers are not very important and that the earlier singles did not have spacers. I think the spacers may keep the disk centered between the drive flanges and extend its life.

How important are these spacers, and what will happen without them?
Andrew Luter

Re: Hardy disk spacers - how important?

Post by Andrew Luter »

Allan:

Not that I am an expert, but if you can get them, I would use them. They were there for a reason. The Germans are nothing if not precise. That is why you and I are riding around on 40 year-old bikes today!

-- Andrew
Allan Atherton

Post by Allan Atherton »

I do want to use them, and I am getting them. But the whole completed restoration has to be torn apart to install them. Either the motor and transmission must be moved forward, or the bench seat, fender and swingarm must be removed.

My restoration mechanic says the spacers are not a neccessity. I am wondering exactly what happens if they are omitted. My R27 has worked perfectly for 1300 miles without them.
Mark Huggett

Post by Mark Huggett »

Hello Allan

I think it very important that you pass on the following information to your restorer before he gives further incorrect information to other BMW owners regarding the Hardy disk. In addition, if your restorer assembled your R27, he should carry out the fitting of these 4 hard rubber spacer rings under guarantee...after all, he is a BMW expert, and he should know the following: